The Unique Museum of Church Art is placed in the church of St. Stephen which was built at the beginning of the seventeenth century, near the Sava river, and it is known as the ‘Old Mitrovica’s Church. This smaller nave temple is one of the few surviving examples of religious architecture from the Ottoman Empire constructed of durable material. The Church – Museum has been open to the public since 1946, with the approval of the church authorities, after collecting artifacts from the ruins of the burned churches and monasteries in Srem. The iconostasis (1775) is the work of art of Teodor Kračun (? – 1781), the leading Baroque painter of the Serbs from the second half of the eighteenth century, who is among other things the author of the iconostasis of Hopovo monastery church (1770), St. George in Sombor (1772) and the Orthodox Church in Sremski Karlovci (1781). Icons from the iconostasis rank among the most impressive part of the Serbian baroque painting in Vojvodina, while the unknown woodcutter exhibits the characteristics of the Ohrid carver tradition. In the Church there are also the icons painted by Petar Čortanović, Pavel Djrković, Jovan Isailović, Lazar Stajić, Stevan Aleksic – from the monastery Bešenova – as well as a great number of icons painted by unknown authors. Beside the icons in the Church, old manuscripts and printed books, liturgical fans, candlesticks and other church objects of applied art are kept.
Opening hours – Call ahead is required!