Sremska Mitrovica

With its two-thousand-year long history Sremska Mitrovica is one of the oldest towns in Serbia and Montengro. During the Roman Empire the town was called Sirmium and it reached its economic peak in the 3rd century A.D., when it became one of the four metropoli of the Empire.

In the medieval times, the town was named after the St. Dimitrije monastery. After its inclusion into the so-called “military border territory” in the mid-18th century, the town started to grow rapidly. The today’s Sremska Mitrovica was built on the ruins of ancient Sirmium. The archeological sites like Carska palata (the Czar’s Palace), the part of old Žitni trg, as well as the basilica of the St. Dimitrije monastery and the Srem Museum, known for the richness, value and rarity of museum items (especially the ones from the Roman Empire) are considered one of the most important institutions in the country and attract the great number of domestic and foreign visitors.

The Sremska Mitrovica municipality is situated in the north-west of Serbia, at the juncture of three morphological entities: Srem’s plain, Mačva’s plain and the Fruška Gora. The territory of Sremska Mitrovica covers 76.153 square kilometres with 74,1% of the territory being the agricultural terrain. The municipality has approximately 85.000 inhabitants, i.e. 113 inhabitants per square kilometers, and encompasses 26 settlements connected with 263 kilometers of road. The municipality’s centre, Sremska Mitrovica, is the economic, administrative and cultural centre of the region and the Srem county.

Settlements in the city of Sremska Mitrovica are Sremska Mitrovica, Bešenovački Prnjavor, Bešenovo, Bosut, Veliki Radinci, Grgurevci, Divoš, Zasavica I, Zasavica II, Jarak, Kuzmin, Laćarak, Ležimir, Manđelos, Martinci, Mačvanska Mitrovica, Noćaj, Ravnje, Radenković, Salaš Noćajski, Sremska Rača, Stara Bingula, Čalma, Šašinci, Šišatovac, Šuljam.